Facebook has made trillions (not a typo) of old posts searchable on the social network. Previously, Facebook limited what posts who shown when individuals searched the site for news or information. But now, all 2 trillion public posts have been indexed.
A Facebook search has always shown results from organizations, pages you follow, and people you’re friends with, but from now on results from strangers will also show up. And with Facebook claiming 1.5 billion searches are made every day on Facebook, that’s a lot of old timelines being exposed to the world.
This is obviously a boon for Facebook, which adds more results to searches, increasing the odds of delivering relevant information. However, for the average Facebook user this change means having your past posts revealed to anybody and everybody. Which isn’t ideal when Facebook already knows too much about you.
Thankfully, there is a solution for anybody not already sharing their posts with “Friends Only”. To hide your past posts, log into Facebook, click on Settings, and select Privacy. From here you can edit who can see your future posts, and, by clicking on Limit Past Posts, make it so only your friends can see posts from the past.