Sunday, May 7, 2017

How to Stop Third-Party Apps From Accessing Your Private Data on Social Media

By  Nancy Messieh  

Email subscription management service Unroll.me recently made headlines for selling user data to other companies, including Uber. Unroll.me quickly issued an apology for what The New York Timesdescribed as a widespread practice.Unroll.me Has Been Caught Selling Your Data Unroll.me Has Been Caught Selling Your DataIf something is free then there's usually a catch. And it turns out Unroll.me is no exception.READ MORE
If you’re still concerned about who has access to your various accounts, the good news is that it’s very easy to revoke access. On the other hand, if you want a better understanding of how each app uses your data, you may need to dig into each app’s Terms of Service.
For the time being, if you want that quick and easy fix, here’s how to revoke access to third-party apps in Google, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest.

Gmail

To disconnect third-party apps from your Gmail or Google account, go to your Connected Apps page in your account. (You can also reach this page by going to My Account > Sign-in & Security > Connected Apps & Sites > Manage Apps.) You should find a list of all the apps you’ve granted access to your Google account with an explanation of what kind of access they’ve been granted. You can scroll through the list, click on apps you want to remove, and click the Remove button.

Twitter

Go to Settings > Apps and you’ll see a list of apps that have access to your Twitter account. You can also tell what kinds of permissions the apps have: read and write (meaning they can post to Twitter on your behalf) or read-only. Click the Revoke Access button on the apps you want to disconnect.

Facebook

Go to Settings > Apps and you’ll see a list of apps that have access to your Facebook account. Hit the Show All button and you can click on each app to see what information the app can access from your Facebook profile, and whether it can post to Facebook on your behalf. To revoke access, just click the to remove.
You can also selectively remove what information an app can access, but this could also break the app’s ability to work.

Instagram

Instagram users can go to Settings > Authorized Applications in your browser to see what apps can access your account – and what permissions they have. Possible permissions include viewing your media and profile, accessing your follower and following lists, posting or deleting likes and comments on your behalf, and following or unfollowing users.
Just click the Revoke Access button to disconnect the apps.

Pinterest

On Pinterest go to Settings > Apps to see which third-party apps have access to your account, and what kinds of permissions they have. Click Revoke Access to remove them.


Source: www.makeuseof.com

No comments:

5 Free Workout Apps and Sites Guaranteed to Get You Moving

By   Mihir Patkar The first step to getting healthier is to  understand your body and its fitness  requirements. The next step is the t...